top of page
  • mumtasali

Music Choices On The 24 second video

For the music choices I was quiet adamant that I wanted a song from my favourite artist called , Santan Dave because his songs have meaning and are very relatable. He articulates himself in such a beautiful way using double entendre metaphors and similes which makes me lyrically talented.


However when it came to song choices I didn't know whether I wanted to go for something more focused on good vibes and having fun or if I wanted something with meaning which is more deep.


Due to fact that I wanted to make this project personal I wanted to include things that have a special meaning to me. I decided to go for a song with meaning which talks about quiet important topics in this day and age and which appeals to people in my age bracket. I was conflicted between two songs in particular which are my favourites from Dave called "how I met my ex" on the Game over EP or "Lesley" From the Psychodrama. I didn't know whether I wanted to focus on on the relationship aspect of the song or more on mental health. The song "how I met my ex" is a song about Dave's personal experience and all the things he did and didn't do during his relationships. What I like about Dave is that although you might not have experienced exactly what he is talking about he has that element of relatability which allows him to appeal to a wider audience. Similarly the song "Lesley" is a Storytime which talks about a girl called "Lesley" who he meets on the train, she is in an abusive relationship with her boyfriend Jason and Dave talks about how he has seen women who he loves go through that. The song focuses on the mental health of Lesley due to her really bad circumstances and Dave gives advice to women at the end of the song saying its never to late to leave that type of situation and that there is always people who are willing to help.


After some careful consideration I decided to go with "Lesley" by Dave ft Ruelle. But I wanted to put this specific part of the song in my 24 second video.


"It's emotional obsession, clinical depression Life is a lesson And you ain't got to sit and cry And Lesley, living in this gift called life There's no better gift than the gift of life So, can you handle it?

I don't know myself I don't know myself no more"

I like the fact that Dave talks about Mental health so openly. It allows the youth to feel more comfortable and able to talk about their mental health more openly. This relates to the point I made earlier about Dave giving an element of relatability where people can relate something he is talking about.




3 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page